Dracula and Harker compared after discussion.

After being formally introduced to both Dracula and Harker, they really different differ from what I’d expected. I’ve previously read the book (but definitely walked away with a new perspective), seen many versions of the movie, so nothing took me by surprised. Based on our discussions, I do see a lot more of the monster than I had previously. Likewise, Harker was as I expected, however, I never thought about why it HAD to be him to destroy Dracula. Sharing ideas made me realize that Ms. Vance was spot on in the fact that he had been cuckolded and this was his way of regaining his masculinity. So, in that aspect, I walked away with a new overall view of the stories, not the characters within.

 

Leave a Reply

