The Red-Headed League

Sherlock’s methods didn’t surprise me in the least. When he stated he had to smoke and that “It is quite a three pipe problem, and I beg that you won’t speak to me for fifty minutes”, I chuckled a little because I’ve always envisioned Holmes, pipe pressed tightly between his teeth, thinking and connecting the dots that others couldn’t. “Typical Holmes” I thought. His intelligence is quite impressive given the era, but I was able to figure out what was going on when they located the bank adjacent to the rear of Mr. Wilson’s shop and the previously mentioned Spaulding spending so much time in the basement. I owe this to more exposure of various plots via movies, TV and other books than I do my own intelligence. As far as Watson’s narrating style, I had mixed emotions. As with any book, if the language references so many local places or words that are uncommon to the reader that you have to stop, research what the narrator is talking about then the story loses momentum. That happened to me a few times, but overall it was what I expected from a story involving Sherlock Holmes.

even-sherlock-holmes-is-baffled_o_1390799

Leave a Reply

